Interviewing COLOR

One day I landed on a video where COLOR was performing at her home in Malibu with an MPC, a keyboard, a mic and a laptop. I checked many more videos, interested in a sound that brings a relaxed remembrance of warm parties next to the sea, and a technique of live performing with a DJing hint.

After a couple of emails, the first interview written for EQlzr materialized. Thank you COLOR for your answers!

How are you digesting travel restrictions and social distancing?

Honestly, as an artist I am grateful of all of this time I can use to create new sounds in the studio - I’ve been working every day and night since March on my live performance consisting of an MPC, looper, vocal effects and more, and it is almost ready for the world to see. I’ve been posting short videos on my Youtube channel of ideas and songs I have been creating live.

Have your plans changed?

Yes, for sure my plans have changed. I had festivals, events and private parties on the calendar that have all been cancelled, all which required travel. I have been working to stay present online and show the world what I have been creating at this time.

You have been quite prolific…

Yes, I have released 3 albums and a bunch of singles, they are all together on my Bandcamp page.

You went from getting your first turntables to your debut as a DJ in only two self-taught years. Impressive!

Once I bought my turntables I spent a month in my basement teaching myself how to mix records, it was not easy! Very frustrating, but I got the hang of it and as time went on I got much better.

How did you get your first paid gig?

I could teach people how to become a professional DJ. I made it my career in a few different countries. It’s all about finding the right person in charge of booking, and showing them how you can benefit their establishment. My first gig was in Whistler, Canada, I used to bartend the clubs up there.